North Thurston Education Foundation Awards $128,500 in Scholarships to 24 Students

The North Thurston Education Foundation has awarded scholarships with a total value of $128,500 to 24 graduating seniors from North Thurston Public Schools.

Scholarships awarded range from $2,500 to $14,000. The NTEF Scholarship Committee evaluated applications on several factors, including academic achievement, school and community activities, references, quality of the required essay and financial need.

The following graduating seniors received this year’s awards:

Named Scholarships: The scholarship program includes designated named endowed scholarships and Foundation-funded scholarships.

In 2024, 24 named scholarships were awarded to the following students:

Alex Ward Memorial Scholarship – Joshua Valerlo, North Thurston High School

Bill Williams Memorial Scholarship – Vanessa Leavitt, Timberline High School

Charles E. Callahan Education Scholarship – Megan Jackson, Envision Career Academy

Colton Thorstrom Smith Scholarship – Victoria Cabo-Schultz, River Ridge High School

Lisa Corwin Memorial Scholarship – Aylana Young, North Thurston High School

Davies Vocational-Technical Scholarship – Karen Ayala-Dominguez, River Ridge High School

Frank Parker Memorial Scholarship – Brandon Fogleman, Timberline High School

Friendship and Family Scholarship – Jaydn Kress, Timberline High School

James Koval Memorial Scholarship – Ashley Ackerson, Timberline High School

Jeannette Hostetter Ford Memorial Scholarship – Benjamin McElroy, Summit

John Gott Education Scholarship – Ariana Jackson, Timberline High School

Roy Pedersen Memorial Scholarship – Ryan Crowley, Timberline High School

Dr. G. Sue Shannon Scholarship – Ariel Searcy, River Ridge High School

Nicholas T. Walker Scholarship – Caitlin Grygorcewicz, Timberline High School

Ethel & Vaughn F. Philpot Scholarship – Tan Mai, Timberline High School

Rahman Family Scholarship – Alexander McElroy, Summit

Gillis Breaking Barrier Scholarship – Susanne Le, River Ridge High School

Porter Scholarship for Hope – Jersie Hendrickson, Timberline High School

Skip Scoggin in Scholarship – Elijah Yoshioka, North Thurston High School

Supporting Women in STEM Scholarship – Paige Wood, Timberline High School

Lewis R. Hawthorne & Edna C. Hawthorne Scholarships –

  • Isaac Perez Osuna, Timberline High School
  • Da’Laijha Tate, Timberline High School
  • Karla Bazail, North Thurston High School
  • Preceise Anvia Koto, North Thurston High School

To view a list of scholarship establishment history and details, visit: